Battles against terminal illness, anxiety, and life!

*Sigh*

This is the third night in a row that we have been unsuccessful in getting Braden to eat dinner.  He simply refuses to eat.  It does not matter what we offer.  He’s just not going to have anything to do with food.  He detests breakfast, but I can typically get him to eat something after he’s been up for a little while.  Lunch is his biggest meal.  We do our best to capitalize on that.  He eats about 500-700 calories a day, with the majority of that coming from milk.  Not good.  I am really interested to hear what the nutritionist has to say.  Really though, what can I do if he flat-out refuses to eat?  If he doesn’t eat dinner, there is no snack when he’s hungry later.  This hasn’t seemed to help coax him to eat dinner though.  We’ve tried varying the foods we eat, making them look cool, adding sauces or dips, and on and on.  It’s just not working.  Foods he used to love, he no longer enjoys.  It’s as if he’s lost his passion to eat, and man oh man, he used to love to eat.  Gone are the days of him enjoying Indian and Mexican food.  I wish I understood.  All I know is that it’s making me worry.  I guess all I can do is wait and see what they say to do when we head up to Baltimore.  I’m sad that we can’t all sit down and enjoy dinner together.  It’s such a small thing to want, yet getting my son to eat appears to be no small task.

Comments on: "*Sigh*" (5)

  1. I wish I knew how to help coax him to eat. I’m sorry. Maybe soon his appetite will come back.

  2. Well, perhaps this is normal age-related stuff? I’m going through the same stuff with Chicka. It’s driving me crazy.

  3. Hi! Coming over from you comment on my blog (I sent you an invite) – I’m sorry he’s having so much trouble eating. I won’t offer unsolicited advice, but I’ve been-there-done-that and know a slew of calorie additives and can probably give you a good sense of what a nutritionist will say. So if you ever want to talk about it, let me know.

    It’s pretty much one of the most frustrating things ever to fight them to eat. I hope he perks up for you soon.

  4. scarredbellybutton said:

    Would he maybe do better with a frequent supply of snacks rather than meals? Eg http://sandradodd.com/eating/monkeyplatter

  5. Add instant breakfast to the milk. I believe it has some of the same nutrients as pediasure. I feel your pain on the not wanting to eat. Such a helpless feeling. Talk with your GI. Don’t be afraid of requesting a g-tube and I think there is something they can do to the stomach to prevent aspiration while they do this procedure. I promise it is not as bad as it sounds. Take the foods he does eat and supplement as much as possible. Let him eat whatever he wants. I know it’s frustrating. let me know if you need to talk.

Leave a Reply

