Battles against terminal illness, anxiety, and life!

Travel Channel

Braden should never be allowed to watch the Travel Channel.  Today we were watching a Disney behind the scenes show.  The conversation went like this:

Braden:  “Look!  A choo choo train, a monorail, ooooh!  Mommy!  Roller coaster!”

Me:  “I see that buddy!  Wow!”

Braden: “I want go there! Please Mommy!  Pleeeease?”

Me:  “I know you do.  We just can’t.” 

Braden:  “I call Nana.  She take me.  You see.”

Calls his Nana.

Braden:  “Nana!  I see trains!  I see roller coasters!  We go Mickey’s house please Nana!  Now we go Nana?”

Nana:  “Oh, Braden.  I wish we could!  It’s too far away to go right now.”

Braden:  “Noooo!  It’s close.  I don’t mind.  I sit and wait and wait ’til we get there.  I be good.”

Nana:  “I know baby, but it’s getting cold.”

Braden:  “I no mind.  I wear coat.  It’s ok.”

Nana clearly grasping:  “Braden, I’m sorry.  It costs a bunch of money, and we don’t have enough to go right now.”

Braden runs out of the room, and comes back with his piggy bank.

Braden:  “I have money Nana!  I have money Mommy!  We go now?!  Pleeeease!”

The conversation continued for some time, while our clever little guy attempted to convince us all that Florida is actually right around the corner (11 hours away,) that his piggy bank had enough to pay for our tickets, and that he would start wearing a halo if he could just go to Disney.  Our Braden, he’s a clever one!

Comments on: "Travel Channel" (3)

  1. Don’t you love the way their little minds work ? 🙂

    I am still waiting for mine to realize that the money tree in the back yard never blooms–teehee

  2. I love these conversations. I have some of the most fun with Emily when we are having conversations just like this.

  3. Maybe Make-A-Wish could help. From the foundation website:

    The mission of the Make-A-Wish Foundation® is to grant the wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions to enrich the human experience with hope, strength and joy. Children who have reached the age of 2½ and are under the age of 18 must be referred to the Foundation and determined to be medically eligible for a wish by their physician. The child’s treating physician makes the final determination of whether a child’s medical condition qualifies him or her for a wish.

Leave a Reply

