Battles against terminal illness, anxiety, and life!

A Big Kid

Yesterday we got our craft on.  Braden loves to paint, as does his little sister.  We had our acrylic paint and canvas out and we began to create.  Yesterday it struck me that Braden’s wild abandon while freeing while painting, was not as fun as it used to be for him.  I think he wanted more.  So I asked him what he wanted to paint a picture of.  He said trees.  I put out appropriate colors and then did something I have never done.  I steadied Braden’s wrist and arm to help with his tremor, but let him make the strokes and paint placement.  Next thing I knew, we had trees that looked like trees!  He then he painted a train as well!  It was a beautiful moment.  Braden chose those paintings to be the ones he wanted to send to Make-A-Wish for their fundraiser held this month.  I was so proud he chose his first “big kid” paintings.  He put so much love and effort into them!  I hope they are enjoyed as much as they made me proud.

Last night was another night of growth as well.  We had prepared ourselves to adopt a child outside a race of our own.  We read more books and spoke with those who had done so.  We were told that four was around the age that children became aware of their skin difference from their parents.  So, it’s been four and a half years of knowing last night’s conversations would take place.  I was prepared.  Compared to the mountain that A-T presents, it felt like a small stepping stone for us.  “Do you like my skin Mommy?” he queried.  “Yes, very much. Do you like mine?” I responded.  He quickly retorted, “No.  It’s too light and spotty.”  I can’t remember laughing that hard in a long time.  I am an avid sunscreen wearer with freckles.  He was spot on.  We talked for a bit longer, and I was satisfied that he was happy with my answers.  I feel content that Braden knows his adoption story by heart, since he asks to talk about it often.  I think he truly understands it’s a story of love and acceptance without conditions or restraint.  It is our hope that he knows that our home is not colorblind, but color aware.  That we understand that his race is important, but that he is part of a much bigger race, the human one.  We will work together to navigate these new waters.  My baby is getting so big!

It appears he has yet another cold.  I’m not surprised, but I am very much looking forward to the 11th and his immunology appointment.  I need to know what we can do to keep him healthier for longer stretches of time.  While a cold isn’t the end of the world, it does kind of stink to continually have one.  Today we have our family portraits in Nashville with the amazing Whitney from Dove Wedding Photography.  She does a remarkable job of capturing the love our family shares, and I simply can’t wait to see what she snaps today!

Comments on: "A Big Kid" (2)

  1. I love the conversation about skin color. Too funny! 🙂

  2. hahahaha…not a freckle fan. What a great kid! I have to say I love that kids say exactly what they are thinking. Its one of the best parts of having kids. Hugs to Braden & his spotty mommy! 😉

Leave a Reply

