Battles against terminal illness, anxiety, and life!

Zzzz

For the record, if you are ever going to need a sleep study or are spending the night with somebody who is, don’t forget to bring socks. My feet are claustrophobic, but I would have given nearly anything for a pair last night! Braden had a sleep study performed, and I was sure that penguins would start waddling by at any given moment. I wasn’t truly sad when Braden asked for me to crawl into the tiny hospital bed with him. That gave my shivering self an excuse to crawl up next to my little hot box.

These past two weeks have been amazing health wise for Braden! Ok, except for one really high 105 degree fever due to a nasty virus. Despite that, this is the best it has been in two years. I am hoping that this isn’t the eye of the storm. I am trying very hard to not sit run around and wait for the other shoe to drop. I should clarify that by good health I mean that when he coughs, his oxygen levels aren’t dropping. When he sneezes, we only get boogers a quarter of an inch long instead if one. Instead of falling asleep sitting up, he is able to go to bed at a normal time for his age. Instead of coughing so hard he can’t breathe, he is only coughing once an hour or two. We will take it while it lasts.

The 13th and 14th of this month we head to the children’s hospital again for him to be put under and scoped by an ENT, pulmonologist, and gastroenterologist simultaneously. He will also have a 24 hour pH probe test performed. The doctors will be checking the structure of his body, looking for polyps, fungus, infection, lymphomas, mucous, and more in his sinuses, esophagus, and lungs. The probe will go down his nose and into his stomach. He will not be happy about this. We will do what we always do though and make the best of it. We will try and have fun, even if it takes immense effort and a big stiff upper lip on my part.

I will post pictures soon of the sleep study. I am so very proud of Braden. Not once did he whine, complain, or do anything one would expect a five year old to do. He took it all in stride. The tech was so thankful and impressed that he sent us home with a new movie! Results should be in this week. I am expecting good results.

We are busy making cookie doughs for the upcoming holidays. We do this every year, but this year we are once again selling them. It’s like the good old days back in NY, but without the built in client base. Dough making should be complete soon and then the baking and decorating begins! Love making cookies you simply can’t find anywhere else or mastering a recipe people shake their head at. Exciting! Hey, I have to channel my nerves somewhere!

Leave a Reply

